Celebrating the amazing achievements of our colleagues, this month we held our annual Heart of LUHFT Staff Awards 2023, which included the Patient’s Choice award.

The awards were open for all our colleagues across Aintree University Hospital, Broadgreen Hospital, Liverpool Dental Hospital, and the Royal Liverpool University Hospital, as well as colleagues working in our community.

We received a huge number of nominations from patients and their families, but it was the SWAN and Bereavement Team who picked up the 2023 Patient’s Choice award and who stood out for their compassionate and personalised patient care.

Nominations explained how the team spend time talking to the families while their loved ones are in the final stages of life, providing compassion and ensuring the families know exactly what is going to happen at every stage. Even after the loved one has passed away, the family are given a memory box from the team and the time they need while being comforted with ‘hugs and hot drinks’.

Another nomination highlighted how the SWAN and Bereavement Team provided them with endless support and all the information they needed following the passing of their family member. Showing care and attention, they are a ‘great team with a lot of heart and desire’.

Over 500 colleagues attended the event, after we received an astounding number of nominations.

A special thank you to Liverpool University Hospitals Charity and all of our event sponsors whose contributions helped to make the night possible, including our headline sponsor DSM, plus Ergea, Hill Dickinson, Jones AV, Lexmark and Frank.

Please see below the list of our winners, individuals and teams who showed outstanding achievements and acts of genuine care and kindness:

  • The Care Award – Ward 8B
  • The Fairness Award – Lisa Robson and Kamali Smith
  • The Innovation Award – Nephrology Team
  • Leading Light Award – Katie Linas
  • Trust Safety Award – StaR Team
  • Patient’s Champion Award – SWAN and Bereavement Team
  • Employee of the Year Award – Niamh Deegan
  • Volunteer of the Year Award – Paul Dixon
  • Team of the Year Award – Breast Unit
  • Special Recognition Award – Culture Network

Congratulations again to all our winners and nominees!