Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust announcement on Trust Chair position

Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust has today announced that the Sue Musson, Trust Chair, will be leaving her role at the end of her three-year term.

Having made the announcement to LUHFT staff, Sue Musson said:

“It has been the most incredible honour to have served as the Chair of Liverpool University Hospitals Foundation Trust and Chair of the Council of Governors for the last three years.  I feel very privileged to have been part of the Trust’s journey through merger, through the COVID-19 pandemic, through the move into the new Royal Liverpool University Hospital and through the delivery of the major service moves across the city.”

“I can honestly say that I have put everything into this role.  I am so grateful for the encouragement and support I have received along the way from colleagues right across the organisation.

I want to thank colleagues for the kindness, dedication, care, compassion, innovation, creativity and sheer hard work they show every day.  You make LUHFT the exceptionally special organisation that it is.

“I wish everyone at the Trust all the very best for the future.”

James Sumner, Chief Executive of Liverpool University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust said:

“On behalf of the Trust I would like to thank Sue for her incredible personal commitment and service to the Trust over the last three-years.

“Sue has shown leadership and an exceptional passion for improving the quality of healthcare we provide to the people of Liverpool and beyond. She has always championed the positive impact LUHFT can have in making a significant contribution to the communities we serve.

“Sue has made a significant and lasting contribution to LUHFT during her tenure.  Thank you to Sue for everything she has done in the best interests of LUHFT, its patients and its staff over the last three years.  We wish her well for the future.”

The Trust’s governors will now commence a recruitment process for the appointment of a new Trust Chair and Chair of the Council of Governors.